Highlights

IMG_5206

What do you know! It’s that time of the year again, that time when the year draws to a close and everybody seems to find himself/herself looking back (sometimes reluctantly) at the year that has been and, consequently, the year that will be.

For many people I know,ending a year means resorting to making promises to themselves (and announce to everyone) not to do this and do that and improve on and even stay away from certain things in the coming year, only to realize later in the year that they hadn’t kept those promises and public declarations of self-improvement. These promises and proclamations come in the form of what we’ve come to know as New Year’s resolutions.

For me, however, saying goodbye to 2013 is more about looking back at the year that has been. And I beg your indulgence if I would be a bit, well, self-indulgent with my 2013 look-back.

My retrospective glimpse is going to a bit different, though, in that it’s not going to be about the usual rundown of ups and downs. I’d rather focus on the former.

First off (and this I’m very proud to say) is something that has to do with my Christian faith. Ever since I was reborn in the likeness of Christ (the term ‘born again’ seems to elicit bewildered, sometimes even condescending reactions from some people, although it doesn’t bother me a bit; me here proud as a peacock to be called a son of God), it’s only this year that I truly realized the profoundness and full meaning of being a follower of Christ. My calling to serve our Heavenly Father was so strong it led me to enrol in a Christian Leadership course, which I did not know was something I had been looking for as a way of becoming more educated in the area of serving God and fulfilling His will.

Second is the way things are coming together in ways I have not even expected. This once again brings to mind one of my favorite Bible verses: ‘And we know that in all things God works for good to those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.’ (Romans 8:28) Writing about it here may take a few pages, so I’ll spare you the long read.

Third, and last, is the physical manifestation of my age in the form of my salt-and-pepper hair. Yes, even if you may find that laughable or even a bit ridiculous, it is for me one of the most interesting changes in appearance I’ve ever had. There are well-meaning people who have been telling to dye my hair black. Even some barbers who have cut my hair have suggested the same thing. In my mind I’d say, ‘Why dye it and try to hide its natural color, when it looks mighty fine as it is?’ Of course, for fear of offending them, I didn’t tell them that. Truth be told, the more grey hairs I see pullulating (that’s just a fancy word that means ‘sprouting’), the more I like my look. The Bible even says something about it in Proverbs 16:31 – ‘Gray hair is a crown of splendour; it is attained in the way of righteousness.’  Who knew? If there could only be just a single manifestation of the many highlights of 2013, my (mostly) grey hair would, without question, be my hands-down choice. The grey hairs would be my crowning glory’s highlights that manifest the highlights of my life.

I hope you’ll find the time to look at your own highlights in the year that has been with gladness and gratitude to the One who provides everything we need.

Happy New Year and God bless us all!

Leave a Reply

