Why I Love Words

They tell the truth and speak of lies
They can instruct ‘bout bees and birds
They take you both to lows and highs
And these bespeak my love for words

They can appear inscrutable
Or as obscure as milky curds
And there’s no doubt they’re mutable
Which justify my love for words

They make me put my glasses on
And make some think that I’m a nerd
No matter that, I know I’ve won
Each time I wrote one spot-on word

And in His Book, each time God speaks
He wants His thoughts lucidly heard
He doesn’t use deceptive tricks
Just uttering important words

And thus describe albeit real short
(Extending this I can’t afford)
My case that you can take to court
The love I have for good ol’ “word”

Eric Ferdinand A. Badong
1 November 2013
Naga City, Philippines

Leave a Reply

